IDE or Shell for Python Data Manipulating

I am trying different IDEs and Shells for Python Coding.

Sublime Text 3 is great, especially for 200+ lines coding task. Spontaneously I compared sublime text with R studio, and found that if we want to build the interactive environment for data mining, this IDE might have trouble in interpretation of the results immediately. Everytime we clicked “command+B” or “Control+R”, the whole pack of code would be executed. R or Rstudio can easily run the code highlighted, as a contrary.

For instance, the following code is to import a table about movie rating and take a look at the first four observations. If I want to check the first 10 rows, I will need to change the code and rerun it all over again. It would be a nightmare for huge data size.

Screen Shot 2017-04-04 at 2.35.37 PM.png

So I go back to IPython/shell…Walk through the code line by line and after I am done, I can paste the code back in IDE and save it…

Hope I can find a better way…

Screen Shot 2017-04-04 at 2.36.06 PM.png

BTW, we need to change the default folder path for loading external files .

import os

os.chdir(“xxx/xxx/”)

Leave a Reply

